0529: Music and Fossils

IMG_8725_01_LR_10

I’ve noticed on Facebook lately people posting older images – Throwback Thursday it’s called. So this week I begin on a personal note. About twenty or so years ago this young boy attached himself to the violin he’s holding in the picture above. During all these passing years I have been amazed and awed by the commitment he has shown toward that instrument and toward music itself.

He’s twenty-eight now – my son Shaun Balin. And next Wednesday night (June 4, 8 PM Eastern) he will be playing at the Country Music Television Awards – one of those big tv extravaganzas. As part of the house band for the evening, he’ll be playing fiddle, and banjo, and mandolin, and acoustic guitar.

Shaunbanjo_LR_10

 It’s hard to describe the feelings of pride and goodwill I have for him.

_______________

IMG_2176_01_LR_10

Now some fossils. I’m always trying to find a way to sort out, arrange, and store my ever-increasing piles of fossils – thousands of them – all to no avail. I began to panic the other day, seeing myself for a moment as some hapless hoarder!

IMG_2175_01_LR_12

But every opportunity to sort through that mess usually results in fresh new images. Rediscovered, reimagined, and reused.

IMG_2163_01_LR_10

They are gifts that just keep giving.

IMG_2364_01_LR_10

Sometimes it’s the light.

IMG_2123_01a_LR_12

Sometimes it’s the background.

IMG_2328_01_LR_12

Sometimes it’s the fresh weathering.

IMG_2206_01_LR_10

and sometimes it’s simply the wonder of natural design.

IMG_2354_01_LR_10

_______________

IMG_2412_01_LR_12

In the midst of cleaning and sorting I couldn’t resist the old Kodak film carrier for a couple of favorite objects.

IMG_2403_01_LR_10

_______________

These next three images are the result of my latest trip to the quarry. I found a couple of new areas to explore up there – each providing me with objects different from my usual options:

IMG_2435_01_LR_10

*****

IMG_2445_01_LR_10

*****

IMG_2439_01_LR_10

_______________

I was particularly taken by the following quotation, so much so that I felt it worth sharing.

Dalai LamaThanks for the visit.

One thought on “0529: Music and Fossils

  1. Congratulations to your sun (and you, too). He’s got to be pretty good to get a gig like that! You have a right to be proud.
    Oh, the other images are stunning, too. Someday you’ll have to describe the technical process you use to get this look.

Leave a Reply

