0814: A Welcome Break

IMG_4451_pano_LR_12

I got a call yesterday from my friend and neighbor Harry. He’d just come from a stretch of creek leading to the falls across the road. That approach to the falls is a wide expanse of rock, filled with pockets, cracks, etc. He found lush algae blooms in those water-filled cracks and crevices and thought they could make for some fine images.

IMG_3754_01_LR_10

Now that my show was up and running, it was long past time for me to address an out of control file system. And, after a day full of opening and deleting files, I needed a break from the computer. Perfect timing! I uncrossed my eyes, grabbed my camera and met up with Harry.

IMG_3771_01_LR_12

It’s funny what catches your eyes though. Harry went down there to look for driftwood for his sculptures and he found algae. I went down to look for algae and found fossils!

IMG_3819_01_LR_12

I’ve walked these rocks many times and, while I would spot a brachiopod every now and then, I never had such luck here. So I present an interesting variety of brachiopods – some delicate and elegant – some gnarly and weathered – all a result of that phone call. Thanks Harry!

*****

IMG_3737_01_LR_10

*****

IMG_3824_01_LR_10

*****

IMG_3791_01_LR_12

*****

IMG_3778_01_LR_12

*****

IMG_3825_01_LR_10

*****

IMG_3715_01_LR_12

*****

IMG_3795_01_LR_10

*****

IMG_3796_01_LR_10

*****

IMG_3758_01_LR_12

*****

I’ll finish with a non-fossil image from yesterday as well – a rock surface that I just couldn’t pass up.

IMG_3739_01_LR_12

Thank you to all who made it to my opening the other night. A good night made all the more special by sharing it with friends.

One thought on “0814: A Welcome Break

Leave a Reply

