040413 – A Couple of Rocks

IMG_9227_01_LR_12I was all prepared to visit the WayBack Machine once again as I am still caught up in digitizing early work of mine – images that I had all but forgotten about. But then the sun came out and I remembered a large fossil rock I had brought back from last week’s foray in the woods. It was covered with brachiopods. I knew that they ran throughout the rock and that any attempt to chop it up would only result in more combinations of fossils being exposed.

It did not disappoint. These first six images came from that one rock.

IMG_9172_01_LR_10 IMG_9206_01_LR_10 IMG_9177_01_LR_10 IMG_9209_01_LR_10 IMG_9220_01_LR_10

_______________

The second rock is one I borrowed from my friend, Ann. This piece of coral probably came from this area but she wasn’t sure. Either way, it seemed to be a near-endless source for exploring. Here are just a few.

IMG_9270_01_LR_12 IMG_9327_01_LR_10 IMG_9281_01_LR_10 IMG_9311_01_LR_10

_______________

A recent trip to Glens Falls resulted in this last selection. Cindy and I paid a visit to the Hyde Collection. I had always heard that it was a real gem of a museum – and it was. The interior was beautiful but, true to form, I chose instead to turn my camera to the grounds out behind the museum. Must have been the rocks…

IMG_8625_01_LR_10 _MG_2032_01_LR_12 _MG_2050_01_LR_10 _MG_2041_01_LR_10

These last two are images of the paper mill down the hill (and the original source of the fortune that eventually created the museum).

_MG_2030_01_LR_12 _MG_2058_01_LR_12

Thank you as always for visiting this site. More images at www.artmurphy.com

Subscribe at my homepage  https://artandfossils.wordpress.com

5 thoughts on “040413 – A Couple of Rocks

    • Thanks Art for the lovely photos. I like the brachiopods and the band of plum color in some of them.I am still creating fossil like ceramic works, but also like fungi and keep switching between the two. i also do other living plants and such…an occasional animal…
      Best,
      Naomi Teppich

  1. Art, the way you focus on the unique markings on the brachiopods and the coral is a great source of inspiration to me!

Leave a Reply

