032913 – Back to Normal

IMG_8825_01_LR_12Well, as “normal” as it gets around here! The past couple of days have been hinting “Spring” but the occasional snow shower seems to still lurk in the background.

IMG_8776_01_LR_12Starting to see the world come alive finally. Beavers are ramping up. Long, long “v” formations of geese fill the sky heading north. And I head down the road to one of my favorite sites – a local dry stream bed that I have written about in the past.

I finally got in a good day of climbing and digging, lifting more than I should, all in the attempt to find and photograph more fossils. As much as I enjoy exploring and shooting in the back rooms of major collections, it simply does not compare to finding these ancient objects out in nature, never having been seen before by anyone. The sore back and cracked fingertips (the normal to which I referred) are a small price to pay.

IMG_8955_01_LR_12A rather large stone sitting upright was the first object of interest I saw as I began my slow walk. All those squiggles are various parts/impressions of brachiopods. Too big to drag back to the studio so I’ll have to make more visits to see it in different light.

_______________

These next three each came from small rock fragments.

IMG_8956_01_LR_10 IMG_8914_01_LR_12 IMG_8845_01_LR_10And the following two are part of a very large rock I worked on several years ago. I had completely forgotten about until I stumbled across it once again.

IMG_8841_01_LR_10 IMG_8837_01_LR_10_______________

My good friend, Dr. Chuck ver Straeten, a sedimentary geologist at the New York State Museum (and a killer on trombone), once tipped me off to the possibility of finding fossil rock in those endless lines of stone fences throughout the area. One such fence, seen below, comes to an end at this dry bed deep in the woods. It just seemed to beckon!

IMG_8807_01_LR_10This one happens to have two rather large pieces of sandstone that provided this next series of fossils. Since these images, quite literally, just scratched the surface of these rocks, I’m sure they will provide many more interesting hours.

IMG_8943_01_LR_10 IMG_8905_01_LR_10 IMG_8890_01_LR_10 IMG_8937_01_LR_10 IMG_8907_01_LR_10 IMG_8834_01_LR_10_______________

A good day, all in all. I even managed to find this on the way home.

IMG_8879_01_LR_10

Thank you as always for visiting this site. More images at www.artmurphy.com

Subscribe at my homepage  https://artandfossils.wordpress.com

3 thoughts on “032913 – Back to Normal

  1. A very good workday indeed! I look forward to more photos of the big hieroglyphically inclined gray stone.

Leave a Reply

