Changing the Subject

The Raphaelesque baby looks out from a flag draped wagon. Entitled “Manger” it is the result of a recent non-fossil foray with the camera. It began with an email that my good friend and fine photographer Alan Bryan sent to me and eight other photographers. The idea he put forth was that we all get together and photograph the Fourth of July Parade in the small town of Saugerties, just a few miles to the south.

When the idea was first raised all I could imagine was ten photographers swarming over the same handful of opportunities like a cloud of gnats! But, as we began the planning I came to see a wonderful opportunity. It is rare for me to work with anyone (other than clients). Photography, the way I practice it, is almost always a solitary experience. In fact, having someone else along generally is an unwanted distraction. But this time the idea of ten different and individual viewpoints focused on the same topic held great appeal. (It turns out that the town is not that small – shooting opportunities were everywhere one chose to look!).

We will be getting together soon to view the collective work . I look forward to that and will have more to share on the subject in the weeks ahead. In the meantime, I have chosen to share two of my favorites from that day. The second juxtaposes young boys in uniforms against photos of what were once boys, who, for a multitude of reasons, had to grow up way too fast. I think these two images are worth an extra pause. Much to reflect upon on a special day.

____________________

And now, back to fossils. Last week I shared images from a new site I’ve been exploring. It was so dense with fossils that I had more to share than I had originally thought. Many that I found were plant related – something I seldom run across in my immediate area. it is always particularly stimulating to find new and different subject matter.

_______________

_______________

_______________

_______________

_______________

_______________

_______________

_______________

_______________

_______________

I’ll close with two new images of fossils that have been sitting around the studio for weeks, seemingly overlooked. As oftentimes happens, the light one day fell across them in a most revealing way. These are the results.

_______________

Subscribe at my homepage https://artandfossils.wordpress.com

Thank you as always for visiting. More images at www.artmurphy.com

Thanks again for the visit.

4 thoughts on “Changing the Subject

Leave a Reply

