Balance

I ran across an interesting article in the Times recently, one that continues to resonate and provoke thought. Entitled “Nature: Now Showing on TV” and written by Diane Ackerman, it speaks to our relationship with nature in the age of digital omnipresence. For all of the great benefits that the web provides (nature cams being a fine example), there is a tendency to retreat from first hand experiences in favor of the “…small, flat glowing screen.” Even worse, the article cites studies that refer to “…widespread ‘nature deficit disorder’ among children who mainly play indoors.”

It’s real easy these days to disengage –  curtail our activities and replace them with our various “entertainment delivery systems.” The diversions serve a good purpose often enough. (The world does seem a bit off kilter, don’t you think?) The concern, obviously, is all about striking the right balance.

I found a new creek to explore – well, new to me that is. I was told that fossils had been found there and it was worth a visit. It’s always something to look forward to – the possibility of finding something cool and interesting. That said, hunting for fossils is, to me, akin to “going fishing” – doesn’t matter how many you catch. Being out there is the real reason for it all. Shortly after taking the above image a beautiful bald eagle flew right over me as it slowly made its way downstream.

The fossil images above were the result of a trip I took to the site last week. I was very happy with the results. The variety of other shooting opportunities was just icing on the cake. These next five images are not fossils, just observations (although I’m not too sure about the “sea lion!”).

I started this post with an image of a skeleton (I believe it is a great blue heron) that I found on the side of the creek. I end it with a scene I found on my drive home.Subscribe at my homepage https://artandfossils.wordpress.com

Thank you as always for visiting. More images at www.artmurphy.com

Thanks again for the visit.

4 thoughts on “Balance

  1. I see shale! And evidence (the rusty stains on the rocks) of the iron bacteria in your observations photographs! My kind of place, and you’ve depicted it beautifully. (The iron bacteria live off the iron embedded in the shale and released from the shale into the creek water.)

    • Hi Linda – You’re right. The iron does wonderful things! This area is known for its bluestone shale. It’s where the sidewalks of New York originally came from.

      Sent from my iPhone

  2. When Napoleon Dynamite asked his friend how he’d show that he liked a girl, he nonchalantly replied, “I don’t know.
    Dick Vermeil is the new coach for the Eagles football team.

    When Tom finds out there is magic working in the relationship, he believes Amanda to be a
    witch, and doesn’t want to have anything to do with her.

Leave a Reply

