060117: My Antidote

The crazier current events become the more I find ways to dig further into my fossils. They don’t endanger the world order. They don’t infuriate with their madness. At the very least they do nothing more than allow for a pleasant diversion from all that “other” stuff.

More than that though, they remind me that, in the long stretch of time that they represent, our current moment of political madness will eventually pass (as all things do). The obvious follow-up question then becomes “At what cost?”

We’ll save that question for another day. In the meantime, these 387 million year old objects wish to speak! A lot of coral today with a sprinkle of brachiopods and a few trilobites for good measure!

*****

*****

*****

*****

*****

*****

*****

*****

_______________

This strange little self-portrait of mine was accepted into the upcoming Small Works Show at the Woodstock Artist Association and Museum (WAAM). And the piece below entitled “Requiem” from my ongoing Galileo series was selected for the show in the main gallery. WAAM is in the heart of Woodstock (NY) and the opening is set for Saturday 4-6pm. If you are in the neighborhood please drop by.

I’ll close today with another orb – a recent full moon.

Thanks for the visit.

3 thoughts on “060117: My Antidote

  1. What a bountiful post. The wrinkly look of the third fossil (coral?) really appeals to me. Also, it’s nice to see your face, and the photo of it is intriguing. I think I’ve already made a blanket statement about your Galileo series, something like “I love it!!!” Wish I were in your neighborhood; I’d drop by.

Leave a Reply

