102716: More Autumn Color

_dsc0116_01_lr_12

While I’ve been out trying to capture the last of autumn color I have also run across more lichen. It is everywhere in the forest and therefore an ever present source of images for me.

dsc03396_01_lr_12

Aside from its beauty and variety, I have become intrigued, but confused, as to what exactly it is. Part fungus. Part algae. It’s been a tricky thing for me to grasp. And it turns out that I’m not the only one.

dsc03422_01_lr_12

A recent article in The Atlantic magazine tells an interesting and entertaining story of a scientist, Toby Spribille, who, after years of study, has cast a new light on just exactly what lichen is. It appears now that there are more than two players in this symbiotic relationship.

dsc03393_01_lr_12

Give it a read if you are so interested. If not, I hope you enjoy the samples of lichen, along with the moss, fallen leaves, and fading colors of autumn, that I have for you today.

dsc03403_01_lr_12

*****

dsc03473_01_lr_12

*****

dsc03462_01_lr_12

*****

_dsc0171_01_lr_12

*****

_dsc0166_01_lr_12

*****

dsc03428_01_lr_12

*****

dsc_0039_01_lr_12

*****

_dsc0094_01_lr_12

*****

_dsc0051_01_lr_12

*****

_dsc0016_01_lr_12

*****

dsc03588_01_lr_12

Let me close with this final image – three cephalopods peeking out from under a blanket of leaves. I uncovered these fossils a few years ago and always enjoy the occasional visit.

And here is a last minute postscript – This is what we awoke to this morning here in Catskill:

img_6450

So much for Autumn color!

7 thoughts on “102716: More Autumn Color

  1. Your photographs of your surroundings are strong in the viewfinder, I’m sure, but your processing is equally strong. You’re so very good at bringing out the beauty to which you respond. Thanks for the link to the Atlantic article. Love that it took an “alliance of researchers ” to uncover the alliance of organisms that make up lichens.

  2. Another fine collection, Art. I agree with Linda that your photography is very strong but your processing is equally inspiring. As an old technician, I wonder if someday you’ll share your processes, equipment choices and inspirations with us.

    • Thanks as always for the kind words. I’ve always felt that it matters far less what equipment one uses than it does how that equipment is used. I began my adult life as a painter and spent most of my career as a working photographer in NYC. Photoshop and the “digital darkroom” changed everything for me. I found that it melded those skills. That and a number of stints as a commercial retoucher (where I learned the “tricks of the trade”) allowed me to take those new found skills and redirect them toward my more personal creative efforts. For me, Photoshop is all about control of the image. And 90% of that is all about painting – mask making that allows for infinite (and often localized) control that shapes the image. All that said, that still leaves plenty of room for that indefinable magic to appear and grow.

      >

Leave a Reply

