063016: Summer Begins

DSC00542_01_LR_12

I needed to get the blood circulating the other day so I walked down to the nearby creek. It was one of those Summer days when life seemed to slow down to a crawl – temperature and humidity pressing down like a vise – leaving me somewhat listless, hoping for a breeze of any sort to bring respite.

DSC00535_01_LR_12

I’ve come to learn that, on days like that, Kaaterskill Creek, even as it runs low this time of year, can always provide that needed respite. Always a breeze creekside.  Always eight to ten degrees cooler. And this day possessing one of the only patches of day lilies around (the rest all eaten down by the large deer population).

DSC00550_01_LR_12

I also managed to find this nice large (5-6′) slab of ripple rock. The breeze and cooler air served its purpose and so, feeling refreshed, I returned to the studio where I continued to sort through the thousands of fossil rocks piled outside. By now there are so many that I have forgotten about that it was either like seeing old friends again or discovering something anew. Either way. it’s a win – win situation!

DSC00562_01_LR_12

What you see above is a grouping of trilobite parts, all of which are parts of head sections (cephalon). While there are many areas where trilobites are plentiful, this is not one of them. So this is somewhat uncommon for me. The bulging piece in the lower left is that head section. The dotted parts on each side are the eyes. Those other dotted fragments  are eyes also (from other trilobites).

DSC00637_01_LR_12

The tail section, or pygidium, appears a bit more frequently in this area. These are three that I have recently found locally.

DSC00640_01_LR_12

*****

DSC00576_01_LR_12

*****

DSC00608_01_LR_12

The more commonly found fossil around here is the brachiopod. I have read that there are well over 10,000 different types, thus the variety of looks.

DSC00607_01_LR_12

*****

DSC00624_01_LR_12

*****

DSC00619_01_LR_12

*****

DSC00628_01_LR_12

_______________

DSC00517_01_LR_12

I’ll close for today with these two images. My recent forays into the woods continue to result in finding beautiful sculptural pieces of wood. This one struck me as some kind of headless recumbent figure. And below, once again, another visitor to my shooting table – ancient looking creatures coming together over millennia!

DSC00561_01_LR_12

Thanks for the visit. Please have a safe and happy 4th!

Leave a Reply

