0407: An Odd Mix

_MG_4810_01_LR_12

This time last week I was hurrying to get the blog posted. It was 72 degrees out with a bright sun – easily the best day of this early Spring. The rest of the day was spent at my favorite quarry where I eventually filled the trunk of my car with fossil laden rocks.

IMG_3004

Fresh material to explore and photograph. Material enough, I was sure, to fill several of these posts. Most particularly today’s.

IMG_2801_01_LR_12

But two days later, my plans changed when a Spring surprise arrived in the form of six inches of snow. And that pile of rocks sits waiting for me.

IMG_0960_01_LR_12

So, in search of a  new topic for today, I decided to browse one of my photo libraries from a few years ago. Often, I can find many images that I had originally passed over (for whatever reason). And, with fresh eyes and a different perspective, they all becomes new material to explore.

IMG_5317_01_LR_12

What you see today is this rather odd mix of images that seemed to beckon to me – no criteria other than that.

IMG_5576_01_LR_12

*****

_MG_4453_01_LR_12

*****

IMG_5268_01_LR_12

*****

IMG_5386_01_LR_12

*****

IMG_5453_01_LR_12

_______________

IMG_7494_01_LR_12

This next set of images is from the Florence Museum of Natural History – this time the subject is bones.

IMG_7521_01_LR_12

*****

IMG_9795_01_LR_12

*****

IMG_7534_01_LR_12

_______________

IMG_0514_01_FW

And, finally, a nice piece of news – The image above, which I had shared with you a few weeks ago, has been selected for “Far & Wide”, the 8th Annual Woodstock Regional Exhibition. Entitled “Natural History – Mushrooms,” it was taken at the Botanical Division of the aforementioned museum. Opening and reception is set for May 7 from 4-6 pm.

Thanks for the visit.

Leave a Reply

