0910: Along the Kaaterskill

IMG_3388_01_LR_12

I’ve been busy printing a show that I just delivered to my friends on Isle La Motte on Lake Champlain – all in relation to an event on September 19th. I’ll have more on that next week. But before leaving I had time to visit a favorite place of mine along the Kaaterskill Creek.

IMG_3182_01_LR_12

The creek makes a dogleg turn through a large section of chert – a fine grained sedimentary rock that can contain fossils. I’ve climbed these particular rocks many times in the past and always seem to come back with a few surprises. This last visit did not disappoint.

IMG_3176_01_LR_12

This slab (above), approximately 8 ft. in length, shows the irregular, hard edged scalloping that I assume comes from weathering and constant (or near constant) flowing water. In the bottom left is a tight cluster of colonial coral.

IMG_3172_01_LR_12

Finding fossils here is a very different experience than the usual hammer and chisel approach. The rock is incredibly hard – as I found out a long time ago. Hitting it with a hammer only results in some impromptu Wyle E. Coyote impersonation – hammer holds steady as entire body shakes uncontrollably!

 IMG_3298_01_LR_12

So the fossils only appear as the rock surface ever-so-slowly dissolves away. And the fossils remain attached as they dissolve at a slower rate. I have a couple of comparisons that I’ll bring you next time.

IMG_3328_01_LR_12

*****

IMG_3334_01_LR_12

*****

IMG_3216_01_LR_12

*****

IMG_3180_01_LR_12

*****

IMG_3153_01_LR_12

*****

IMG_3202_01_LR_12

This last one I couldn’t resist. I’m not sure what it is. But it made for a nice picture. Actually, I found a number of somewhat similar objects in the immediate vicinity. Something makes me think that they are something much more recent than any fossils – some kind of growth?? If you have any thoughts I’d be happy to hear.

_______________

IMG_3411_01_LR_12

So, after delivering the show to the folks at Chazy Reef I had time for a stroll along the Lake Champlain shore. More fun with rocks!

IMG_3432_01_LR_12

*****

IMG_3454_01_LR_12

I’ll have more information next week about the upcoming events on Isle La Motte on the 19th. More images from the show and a few new discoveries.

IMG_3468_01_LR_12

Thanks as always for the visit.

2 thoughts on “0910: Along the Kaaterskill

Leave a Reply

