0716: What the Rain Brought

IMG_1029_01_LR_12

Thanks to the recent rains (and other various conditions present) the signal went out that it was mushroom time. Seemed like everywhere I looked I saw them – all different types and shapes. And while I know very little about mushrooms (hell, I don’t even like eating them!), I must confess that they can be very interesting subjects. I have a few new fossil images at the end of this post. In the meantime I’d like to share these mushrooms with you. I found all of them at home and at my studio. No searching was involved.

IMG_4314_01_LR_12

I found this one growing in a mulch pile. These first five images are the same mushroom – the above image at the mulch pile and the others back in the studio.

IMG_0998_01_LR_12

*****

IMG_1004_01_LR_12

*****

IMG_1016_01_LR_12

*****

IMG_4316_01_LR_12

Here are some of the others.

IMG_0986_01_LR_12

*****

IMG_0697_01_LR_12

*****

IMG_0977_01_LR_12

*****

IMG_0966_01_LR_12

_______________

IMG_0957_01_LR_12

And now, some new fossil images.

IMG_0945_01_LR_12

*****

IMG_0947_01_LR_12

*****

IMG_0939_01_LR_12

_______________

tn-p_lorri_fullframe_color

I know you have probably heard by now about Pluto and the New Horizons spacecraft and its adventures. I can’t find the words to adequately describe the brilliance and commitment of those at NASA who were responsible for this feat. They are the same brilliant minds, the staff at NASA, who are constantly threatened by ignorant elected officials in Congress. Their crime – the desire to turn their attention to issues of climate change.

So, as we formally say hello to Pluto (above) and its moon Charon (below), let’s hope that good sense might prevail here at home.

nh-charon

Thanks for the visit.

Leave a Reply

