0205: More From the Vaults

IMG_7646_01_LR_12

Greetings from the snow covered upper Hudson Valley. The wind is howling as I write this today, giving life to the multitude of chimes I have hanging all around outside my studio. The cacophony of bright, crisp sounds provides a pleasant backdrop to today’s tasks.

IMG_7434_01_LR_12

I have chosen once again to dive back into the vaults seeking overlooked images. And this time I settled into my images from Paris. First is a group from one of my favorite museums, the Gallery of Palaeontology and Comparative Anatomy. The gigantic ammonite seen above hung in a stairway landing – an odd place for it I thought, but striking nonetheless.

IMG_7497_01_LR_12

Next an arachnid, I think, from a time unknown to me (Take me out of the world of marine invertebrates and I am lost!).

IMG_7618_01_LR_12

And the last fossil for today – a pterodactyl.

_MG_0608_01_LR_12

Aside from the wonderful collections housed in this museum, the building itself is worth a visit alone. Built for the Paris Exposition of 1900, it has wonderful detailing at every turn, such as these three examples of the “natural history” architectural embellishments.

 *****

_MG_0615_01_LR_12

*****

_MG_0618_01_LR_12

*****

IMG_7426_01_LR_12

And then there are the stairwells.

_MG_0523_01_LR_12

Earlier posts captured this museum much more fully. For anyone interested, here are those links:

https://artandfossils.wordpress.com/2012/11/29/back-from-paris/

https://artandfossils.wordpress.com/2012/12/07/the-paris-natural-history-museum/

https://artandfossils.wordpress.com/2012/12/14/the-gallery-of-paleontology-and-comparative-anatomy-paris/

_______________

_MG_1405_01_LR_12

These last few are some random favorites, a somewhat odd mix. The first is a view of the Seine taken from the top of Notre Dame. Speaking of stairs, there are 387 steps to the bell tower and another 147 to the very top (where I shot this picture). And, as I stood there trying desperately to catch my breath, I looked across at the 300′ tall spire – only to see three workers climbing to the top!

_MG_1187_01_LR_12

Louvre

_MG_1534_01_LR_12

Gare d’Austerlitz

IMG_0375_01_LR_12

An odd but favorite image of mine – Voltaire’s tomb in the basement of the Paris Pantheon. His shadow watches over.

IMG_0426_01_LR_12

One last image from Paris for today. The wonderfully inscrutable work of one of my favorite artists, Cy Twombly, at the Pompidou.

_______________

A couple of final notes. This Saturday, February 7, two of my images will hang in juried openings:

IMG_1636_01crop_LR_12

“Madonna Erotica” will appear at the Woodstock Artist Association and Museum in the Small Works Show – 4-6pm.

IMG_6934_01_LR_10

And this work from my Devonian Drawer series will appear at the Delaware Valley Arts Alliance in Narrowsburg NY. That opening will run from 2-4pm. If you are in either area please stop by.

IMG_7650_01_LR_12

Thanks for the visit.

3 thoughts on “0205: More From the Vaults

Leave a Reply

