1211: Storage

_MG_5212_01_LR_12

I’ve been putting off a major chore for too long. I’m referring to rental storage spaces – the 21st Century version of attics. Out of sight, out of mind. The rental charge slides into your monthly bills without much thought. And there your stuff sits… and sits… and sits. The latest snowfall somehow seemed to get me moving and so I began the process of tossing all but what’s most important. After all, if something had sat long enough for me to forget about it, then I probably don’t need it anymore.

IMG_7496_01_LR_10

That said, I ran across many things worth keeping, from grade school report cards and my baby pictures et al (Thanks Mom!). to things like these four images from days past. I found this diverse mix in one box. On top is a shot of me working with Robert Frank, one of the most important photographers of the 20th Century. I was printing some exhibition work for Mr. Frank – some of his earliest forays into the digital world. It was an honor and pleasure working with him.

IMG_7502_01_LR_12

Next are a couple of polaroids I found at the bottom of the box. The first was from a weeklong shoot on Ellis Island – shortly before renovations began. This scene, eerily enough, was from the old mortuary on the island.

IMG_7500_01_LR_10

And this one, for anyone old enough to remember, is none other than Buffalo Bob Smith of Howdy Doody fame. I remember keeping this one because I was always fascinated by that outfit! The belt buckle, the fringe! I watched that show religiously as a kid. So what a surprise when I was asked to shoot all the advertising promos for an anniversary show years later.

IMG_7503_01_LR_12

And last, my stacks of pulp sci-fi covers from the Fifties. Tom Swift was my real hero. And so visualizations of astronaut adventures (way before Star Wars) sparked my imagination.

_______________

IMG_2324_01_LR_10

All this looking back got me in the mood to revisit early fossil images. So I decided to comb through my earliest library and pick out images worthy of a second look. And here they are for the first time.

IMG_1382_01_LR_12

*****

IMG_1866_01_LR_10

*****

IMG_1885_01_LR_12

*****

IMG_3821_01_LR_10

*****

IMG_2270_01_LR_12

*****

IMG_1407_01_LR_12

*****

IMG_2905_01_LR_12

_______________

IMG_3405_01_LR_10

I’ll leave you this week with another winter landscape.

Thanks for the visit.

Leave a Reply

