0904: Back to the Creek

IMG_4501_01_LR_12

A mid-afternoon spike in the temperature got me out of the studio and down to the creek where a cool breeze relaxed and revived me. As I sat there, luxuriating in Mother Nature’s nearest cooling station, I stared upstream, remembering what it looked like when I first moved here.

IMG_8878_01_LR_10

The steps of rock that were (and are) streambed were visually unblemished. This picture was taken during Spring of 2011, months before Hurricane Irene.

IMG_4492_01_LR_10

This is what followed (and remains today). Not better or worse, to my way of thinking, just the reality of ever changing landscape. In this case, loose rock was transported from upstream by the force of the water. And now, with the water level low, I could step across the loose rock and get a close look at what had been deposited. Surely I could find a fossil or two, I thought.

IMG_4511_01_LR_10

Actually, many more than two…

IMG_4494_01_LR_10

These come from rocks I found during the first few minutes of looking.

IMG_4515_01_LR_10

And so I have more reason now to hang out at the creek. This is going to the office for me!

_______________

IMG_4473_01_LR_12

I have a new series I’d like to share with you. Now that my “Abstract/Concrete” show is about to come down (this is its last weekend) it’s time to further explore this world of color and design.

IMG_4434_01_LR_10

I’m calling this series The Swarm. It’s at a very early stage right now. Some images may seem redundant or duplicative. But for now I’m exploring the many different ways these subjects can frame.

IMG_4433_01_LR_10

So, with that in mind, I hope you enjoy them.IMG_4432_01_LR_10

*****

IMG_4457_01_LR_12

*****

IMG_4458_01_LR_10

*****

IMG_4462_01_LR_10

*****

IMG_4460_01_LR_12

*****

IMG_4453_01_LR_10

_______________

IMG_4441_01_LR_10

I can’t resist good graffiti. Something to ponder until next week. Thanks for the visit.

2 thoughts on “0904: Back to the Creek

Leave a Reply

