0731: Save the Date

IMG_0552_02a_LR_10

The date I’m referring to is Saturday, August 9. I will be presenting a new body of work at the Beacon Artist Union that evening at the opening (6-9pm) and will remain until September 7. This new work, entitled “Abstract/Concrete,” has been a thoughtful exploration and a fine adventure for me. I look forward to sharing it. The image above is one the fourteen that will compose the show.

_______________

IMG_3258_01_LR_12Try as I might it just seems impossible for me to keep my shooting area clear and clean. And so the fossils pile up everywhere. While there is a downside (like when you want to show a friend that perfect fossil you found last week!), there is an unexpected and delightful upside. The randomness of all these interesting items generate fresh new images.

IMG_3663_01_LR_10

And as I browse over the piles I find fossils that I forgot I had.

IMG_3215_01_LR_10

Left in piles to be dealt with later, I suppose.

IMG_3263_01_LR_12

*****

IMG_3208_01_LR_10

*****

IMG_3624_01_LR_10

*****

IMG_3613_01_LR_12

*****

Last in this group is a piece I found in the Gilboa area a couple of years ago. It measures twelve inches across. It appears to be the base of a tree trunk showing the roots splaying outward!

IMG_3259_01_LR_10

_______________

IMG_3581_01_LR_12

I couldn’t resist taking this close-up of a mixed media sculpture. The sculptor is friend and fellow bau member, Tom Holmes. And the sculpture and numerous other terrific pieces remain on display through this weekend (Aug.2-3) in Tom’s solo exhibition at the Beacon Artist Union, 506 Main Street in Beacon, NY. Come by and check out the gallery.

And then you can come back the following weekend for my opening on August 9. I’ll leave you with one more piece from next week’s opening.

IMG_0557_01_LR_10

Thanks for the visit.

One thought on “0731: Save the Date

Leave a Reply

