0724: More Color From the Quarry

IMG_3352_01_LR_10

The other day, needing to take a break from printing, I visited the neighborhood quarry and once again climbed through the section I was least familiar with. I’ve always avoided that area because so much of the rock was too crumbly, I thought, to find anything of substance there. But then I’m not looking for great scientific discovery. I’m happy to settle for the “visually stimulating.”

IMG_3353_01_LR_10

In that sense it doesn’t disappoint. The fragility has its own appeal. And the colors are amazing! Picture 1 at the top of this post shows a brachiopod in rock, all of which has been affected by iron oxidization. Picture 2 (above) shows the result of the slightest disturbance in the rock as it quite literally falls apart. Needless to say, with such fragility, all these images were taken on site.

IMG_3343_01_LR_10

Thin layers filled with various small brachiopods cut through this section of the quarry. According to my friend, Dr. Chuck Ver Straeten from the New York State Museum’s Geology Division, these layers appear every six feet or so, suggesting a regularity of geologic activity over a certain period of time. (I hope that is an accurate interpretation of what I was told – most of this stuff is still a mystery to me, I must confess!).

IMG_3378_01_LR_10

Whatever the cause I’m delighted to have the open-ended opportunity to explore this area.

IMG_3384_01_LR_10

*****

IMG_3362_01_LR_10

*****

IMG_3434_01_LR_10

Even when drained of color the fossils here seem to have a unique character.

IMG_3484_01_LR_10

_______________

IMG_3416_01_LR_12

And then, of course, there is abundant color – no fossils – just a riot of color. The picture above shows the current quarry floor. Scale top to bottom is approximately six feet.

IMG_3392_01_LR_10

*****

IMG_3462_01_LR_10

*****

IMG_3464_01_LR_10*****

IMG_3463_01_LR_10

 *****

IMG_3439_01_LR_12

This final quarry image – looking like a lightening bolt from a dark and oppressive sky – seems to echo some of the new work I will be showing at my upcoming show in Beacon on August 9. For all my friends in NYC, get out of the city for a day, visit the many galleries in Beacon (including DIA), and join me for the opening that evening from 6-9 pm.

Beacon Artist Union, 506 Main Street, Beacon, NY

And with that I’ll end today’s post with another image from that upcoming show.

IMG_0744_01_LR_12

 Thanks for the visit.

2 thoughts on “0724: More Color From the Quarry

Leave a Reply

