0619: As Summer Begins

IMG_2740_01_LR_10

The local quarry, which has been a focus of mine lately, has spoiled me. Thanks to the current owner, a large section of the most fossil-laden layer (a few feet deep, I believe) has been dug up and piled very high in several places. I simply show up and load the back of my car with rocks of all shapes and sizes.

IMG_2698_01_LR_10

To be sure, I do employ some discrimination. And, while I’ve become more and more particular, I can still load the car in very short order.

IMG_2691_01_LR_10That main layer has little variation in what can be found – brachiopods mostly. (That’s why you usually see an abundance of them on this blog). Since I am more interested in the aesthetic possibilities than scientific discovery I am usually more than busy and happy with that situation.

IMG_2720_01_LR_10

*****

But there is something to the broader notion of exploration. And I was feeling that the other day as I pulled up to the same place and started to load my bag like usual. Other parts of this quarry contain some other types of fossils – different layers from different times – but far less abundant.

IMG_2675_01_LR_12

 So I set out to find them that day. And here is some of what I found.

IMG_2681_01_LR_12

*****

IMG_2704_01_LR_10

*****

IMG_2694_01_LR_12

*****

IMG_2685_01_LR_12

*****

IMG_2724_01_LR_12

*****

I even took a minute to explore the woods that form the outer boundary of the quarry  – good timing for this one!

IMG_2649_01_LR_12

_______________

Before I close, let me tell you about a wonderful event taking place this Sunday (June 22) on Lake Champlain – Isle La Motte, Vermont, to be precise. There you will find, at the Goodsell Ridge Preserve, the most ancient Chazy Reef (480 million years old). You’ll also find the dedicated group of local volunteers responsible for its preservation. And on Sunday, they invite you to the following:

YOU ARE INVITED TO THE GRAND OPENING OF THE WALK THROUGH TIME EXHIBIT. JUNE 22 1:00-5:00. FROM 1:00 TO 2:45 WILL BE AN OPPORTUNITY TO WALK THE 4,600 FOOT TRAIL WHERE PANELS ARE SET UP DEPICTING THE 4.6 BILLION YEAR HISTORY OF EARTH. BAGPIPES WILL SUMMON YOU AT 2:45 (I hope) to A RIBBON CUTTING CEREMONY. MUSIC & REFRESHMENTS FROM 3:30 to 5:00.

If you are anywhere in the vicinity please drop by. If not, then plan a trip sometime this summer. It’s a wonderful place to visit – a place to learn about and view amazing things.

IMG_2332_02d_LR_10

Thanks for the visit.

 

2 thoughts on “0619: As Summer Begins

Leave a Reply

