The “New” in New Year

IMG_5802_01_LR_12

The start of the new year has me playing, albeit rather tentatively, with some different ideas  – the ones that winter reflection often raise. I’m not talking life-changing issues here (at least not this year). Rather, the various “course-corrections,” the creative explorations that keep one’s life and work fresh.

_______________

A few housekeeping notes first:

1380597_10100927821170892_2110755594_n1

I am pleased to announce that I have accepted an invitation to become a member of the Beacon Artist Union in Beacon, New York. The art world knows about Beacon thanks to DIA:Beacon and a thriving local art scene. BAU has a great reputation, has been around for ten years, and has a roster of great artists! I look forward to this association (effective February 1).

_______________

One feature I particularly like about WordPress is the personal “annual report” they issue at year end – a wide range of stats about one’s blog. And while I don’t work hard (or at all) to explore ways to increase viewership I am humbled and most grateful for the interest readers have shown. Most notable to me are the two following stats – In 2013 this site had a total of 8900 visitors from 83 countries! Thank you very much.

_______________

Six months ago I had the opportunity to purchase an Epson 7900 printer from my dear friend Susan Goldson. Howard and Sue packed up for the warmer climate of Florida ( a wise move, I believe, given temperatures lately) and couldn’t take it with.

IMG_2379_01_LR_10

It’s been sitting in my studio since then without any opportunity for me to make use of it (Autumn was a busy time!). It’a a new year and time to get it up and running. So, Sue, I just want you to know that “Baby” is performing as well as ever. I pulled my first serious print the other day (23×46) and it looks great! Enjoy the warm weather.

IMG_2377a_LR_12

_______________

IMG_2327_01_LR_8

Here’s something new I’m exploring – what I am calling a “remote portrait.” Using FaceTime, I can have the “sitter” position their mobile device to my request, strike the pose I want, and “snap” a screen grab! This first attempt (my son Shaun at the workbench – in Nashville) shows great promise, as well as the opportunity to call all my friends and bother them with requests to pose!

_______________

What’s left for today are three small groupings of new:

_MG_0462a_01b_LR_15

“Industrial Cathedral, Paris”

img_4956_01_lr_10_test

“PRI Pair”

_______________

New additions to my Devonian Drawer series:

IMG_9349_01_LR_12 IMG_5673_01_LR_12 IMG_9756_01a_LR_12

_______________

Traces of snow,pieces of fossils

IMG_5918_01_LR_12 IMG_5928_01_LR_10 IMG_5923_01_LR_10

Thanks for the visit!

3 thoughts on “The “New” in New Year

Leave a Reply

