A New Year Begins

IMG_5912_01_LR_12

I don’t know about you, but I must admit to having a rather sluggish start to the new year. Much to look forward to and be excited about yet the winter “blahs” seem to have settled in. Perhaps it is the result of the polar vortex and all the misery that accompanied it. Or perhaps it’s just that seasonal cabin fever thing that can be remedied with a few warm sunny days.

IMG_4803_01a_LR_12

Some artist friends of mine had a back-and-forth on Facebook the other day all about that seasonal lack of energy and creativity. So apparently I’m not the only one. But I do always have this blog to post – and that keeps my hand in the process, whether I’m bursting with creativity or wondering if the creativity had permanently departed! And thanks to the wealth of images in my library that I never had time to explore I always have fresh images or, in the example above, fresh new doors to open and work to explore.

_______________

IMG_3853_01_LR_12

So I present an odd mix – images that may or may not work well but certainly worthy of exploration. Here is a strange, hidden landscape – a heavy fog hides the Umbrian town of Spoleto from an aerie high in the hills to the north.

_______________

IMG_3027_01_LR_12

In case of emergency Break Glass! This from a private park in Florence.

_______________

IMG_2866_01_LR_10

Florence graffiti.

_______________

IMG_5074_01_LR_10

Two back alley outdoor workplaces in Rome.

IMG_5113_01_LR_10

_______________

_MG_4363_01_LR_12

Close up of Rome basilica.

_______________

IMG_5182_01_LR_10

A new entry to my Street Shrine series. In this case graffiti that has the same effect as the larger, more lavish shrines found on many street corners.

_______________

And now something I have wanted to revisit. This fossil series was made on my last visit to the Museum of the Earth and PRI, located in Trumansburg, New York.

IMG_4914_01_LR_10

_______________

IMG_4956_01_LR_10

_______________

IMG_4918_01_LR_10

_______________

IMG_4966_01 _LR_10

_______________

IMG_4935_01_LR_10

_______________

IMG_5747_01b_LR_12

Thanks for visiting.

More images at www.artmurphy.com

Subscribe at my homepage artandfossils.wordpress.com

3 thoughts on “A New Year Begins

Leave a Reply

