1212: Beacon This Weekend

Murphy_Art_StreetShrine_3036

I’m happy to report that these two images from my Street Shrines series was accepted into a juried show opening this Saturday, December 14 (6-9 PM) at the BAU Gallery in Beacon, NY. It is my first opportunity to show work there and I look forward to the event. The title of the show is Saints & Sinners – seemed like a good fit!

Murphy_Art_StreetShrine_4775

I dropped the work off last weekend – my first visit to Beacon in a long time – and was I ever impressed. A lot of fine galleries with terrific art. It is also their monthly Second Saturday gallery walk. So if you are in the area please drop by.

_______________

Like the rest of the eastern states, we here in the Hudson Valley felt the shiver of early winter the past few days. The snow and ice provided opportunity, as it almost always does, for fresh shooting prospects. I’m not quite ready for the cold just yet so I ventured only as far as my various piles of fossils and props that surround my studio.

IMG_5760_01_LR_10

These slabs are all full of fossils and, when reduced to simple shapes, now look more like some cemetery in a dream…while metal springs, like the bare tree branches, pick up a nice coat.

IMG_5762_01_LR_12

_______________

IMG_5772_01_LR_12

I also took the opportunity to throw a few prints from my “rejects” stack out into the snow and rain – don’t know where this might lead – but it has possibility. The fossil, by the way, is a rugose coral – one that I have used a number of times.

IMG_5788_01_LR_12

_______________

The cold weather is also helpful in keeping me in the studio – and that is allowing me to chip away at all of my recent images from Italy. Not much in common with these new ones. They just caught my eye:

IMG_1377_01_LR_12

Stairs, Spoleto

_______________

IMG_2766_01_LR_12

Street Stall Stitching, Florence

_______________

IMG_0997_01_LR_12

Construction, Uffizi

_______________

IMG_4408_01_LR_12

Orrery, Vatican Museum

_______________

And one last image from a recent stroll through the town of Hudson – sculpture from industry!

IMG_5752_01a_LR_12

Thanks for visiting.

More images at www.artmurphy.com

Subscribe at my homepage artandfossils.wordpress.com

One thought on “1212: Beacon This Weekend

Leave a Reply

