1031: The Best Autumn

IMG_5452_01_LR_10“This was the best Autumn ever!” That’s what I have heard from all my friends.We missed the best part of it while away. That said, it’s still a beautiful place to return to – this Hudson Valley. Each time of year has its special moments. And this special moment (above), during a hike last weekend, captured it for me, in all its natural randomness.

_______________

IMG_1933_01_LR_12The weather has been great for a visit to the neighborhood quarry. Since my last visit some major new areas have been exposed and, while I am pretty familiar with the fossils to be found here, it is still and always a treat to find so much in one small place.

IMG_5386_01_LR_12Brachiopods looking like gold nuggets pouring out of the rock

IMG_5475_01_LR_10_______________

IMG_5428_01_LR_12_______________

IMG_5528_01_LR_10_______________

IMG_5510_01_LR_10All of the fossil images above (and many more) came from one rather large rock that I carried back to my studio. Originally it was roughly 2’x1’x8″ . The larger rock (that this was once part of) sits on a large pile awaiting my next visit.

_______________

IMG_1932_01_LR_10Last week’s trip to Isle La Motte to pick up my recent show provided me with another view of Autumn, 2013.

IMG_5373_01_LR_12Fisk Quarry – Those two white,chalky spots on the wall (high center) are massive Ordovician stromatoporoids. And below are one of the many gastropods to be found there. All with the crisp scent of crushed apples underfoot!

IMG_5375_01_LR_12_______________

As I continue to edit my Italian images let me share these with you. The first three are from the Roman Baths of Caracalla. Massive structures and facilities that boggle the mind – especially when considering the date of origin – app. 212 A.D.

_MG_4302_01_LR_10_______________

_MG_4255_01_LR_12Mosaic tile flooring (from the upper floors)

_MG_4248_01_LR_10_______________

IMG_5209_01_LR_10And finally, a few random street scenes.

IMG_5196_01_LR_12_______________

IMG_5072_01_LR_10_______________

Thanks for visiting.

More images at www.artmurphy.com

Subscribe at my homepage artandfossils.wordpress.com

2 thoughts on “1031: The Best Autumn

Leave a Reply

