0905: A Flurry of Activity

IMG_3721_01a_LR_10

I’m happy to say that the above piece, entitled “Buy Now, Pray Later,” just won the Juror’s Choice Award at the Woodstock Artists’ Association and Museum (WAAM) show opening this Saturday afternoon. You’re right – it doesn’t remotely look like fossils. The theme of the show is “In the News” (Art expressing a point of view about current or past events). I thought this image combined the nutty taste of run-amok evangelism with the ominous clouds of imperiled consumerism. I shot it a few years ago in the parking lot of the Hudson Valley Mall in Kingston. 4 – 6 PM Saturday in Woodstock.

_______________

IMG_2697_01_LR_10

That Renaissance Guy up the road, my good friend Harry Matthews, has work currently up at the Mountaintop Arboretum in Tannersville. His balanced stone sculptures are delightful and mystifying. And set in such a beautiful location, with the Catskill peaks filling out the view, it’s a great reason to take a drive up Kaaterskill Clove and enjoy the last days of Summer or even early Autumn colors (it’s up until October 14).

_______________

Devonian Crinoids_LR_10

You might remember this one. It’s a favorite of mine that’s making the rounds lately. This double crinoid image, taken at the Yale Peabody Museum of Natural History made it into the PHOTOcentric 2013 show at the Garrison Art Center in Garrison, NY. I’m happy to say that this is the third year in a row my work has been accepted into this national juried show. The opening is Sunday, September 15 and it will run through October 6. Unfortunately, I will miss the opening. I will be in Italy, preparing for my September 20 opening at the Florence Natural History Museum.

_______________

IMG_7810_LR_12

One last show to report on – this piece “Window” – was selected for the 2013 Artists of the Mohawk Hudson Region exhibition, being held this year at the Hyde Collection in Glens Falls, NY. It will run from October 15 through December 29.

I bring this up now because we had to run the print up there today (85 miles away) and used the trip to view a terrific show at the Hyde that only has ten days left. The show is entitled “Modern Nature. Georgia O’Keefe and Lake George”. It’s a small but very thoughtful exploration of O’Keefe’s days on Lake George and how it shaped much of her future (and more famous) work. And there are more than enough gems to make the trip worthwhile.

Georgia-O_Keeffe-The-Chestnut-Grey-1924-large-1339818789

For the first time (thanks to the curator’s choices) I was able to see her influences – from Arthur Dove, to Kandinsky, and even Braque. What a wonderful exercise! And what did I get hooked on? Her trees, of course! A subject that has certainly captured my attention these past few months. I never knew (or remembered) that she specifically painted them. It made for a great day.

IMG_0990

O’Keefe was quoted in 1927 as saying “If only people were trees…I might like them better.” Spending most of my days in my little studio in the woods I must say I’m beginning to understand.

_______________

IMG_2202_01_LR_12

It’s only fitting that I give you a couple more tree images from our recent trip to Isle La Motte, including these two trees fighting over a rock.

IMG_2543_01_LR_10

I’ll end with one last picture from Isle La Motte – our last night there.

IMG_2458_01_LR_10

Thanks for visiting.

More images at www.artmurphy.com

Subscribe at my homepage artandfossils.wordpress.com

One thought on “0905: A Flurry of Activity

Leave a Reply

