0808: As Summer Races Along

IMG_2128_01_LR_10Corn every night from Story’s and an occasional ice cream from Circle W are two of the many things that make this time of year so special around here.

IMG_1257_01_LR_10It has been a very busy time for me in the studio lately. And I am happy to say that it’s getting even busier. So I’ll keep this pretty brief.

_______________

IMG_1372_01_LR_10Last chance to see the Small Town Parade Show at the Saugerties Performing Arts Factory  (SPAF). The show has been extended through this weekend, August 10-11. All of us involved are most grateful for the response we received from the community at large. It was a great project for the eleven of us. Drop by if you can. Several of us should be around. including Rivka Katvan, seen below at the opening with her work.

IMG_1290_01_LR_10_______________

My main focus at the moment is my (rapidly approaching) show in Vermont. We hang the show next Thursday on Isle La Motte, as lovely a site for a show as any I have ever found. On this island sits the Chazy Fossil Reef, formed 480 million years ago. It’s a fascinating place, much of which has been saved thanks to the hard work of Linda Fitch and her associates. Their efforts led to the establishment of the Isle La Motte Preservation Trust, the organization that looks after things up there.

IMG_2411_01_LR_10

The show is a collection of images I made from our visit over a year ago. The gastropod above is one of twenty five pieces that will be exhibited. I’ll try to have more on the show before we leave on Wednesday. In the meantime, I have a stack of prints and frames to attend to!

The opening will be held on Sunday afternoon, August 18 from 1-5 PM at Fisk Farm.

Fisk Farm is located directly north of the Fisk Quarry Preserve

3849 West Shore Road
Isle La Motte, VT 05463

I’ve been working on a number of gastropod images, so wouldn’t I start seeing them wherever I go – the other day in Woodstock, the wet sidewalk seemed to be weighing in!

IMG_0861_01_LR_12_______________

On another note, a stroll in Hudson the other day yielded this pair of color pieces.

IMG_2162_01_LR_10I moved to the left for this next one.

IMG_2161_01_LR_12It was the “ow” that caught my attention. It was speaking to me. The stroll was catching up with me – a herniated disc introduced itself while on my recent artists’ residency at Platte Clove – and it seems to want to hang around for a while. Despite it, that time spent up there was magical. And two of the images from that stay will be part of a show at the end of the month at the Catskill Center in Arkville. I’ll have more on that upon my return from Vermont. Here are the two that were chosen:

IMG_1653_01b_LR_12_______________

IMG_1796a_01_LR_10Back to the framing for me. Thanks for your time today.

More images at www.artmurphy.com

Subscribe at my homepage artandfossils.wordpress.com

3 thoughts on “0808: As Summer Races Along

Leave a Reply

