0801- Rocks and Trees

_MG_2847_01x_LR_10

Whenever I need a break from the computer, one of my favorite places to “reboot and recharge” is Kaaterskill Creek. It passes within a stone’s throw from my studio (every day is beautiful around here!). The creek has been a subject for artists for the past two centuries from Thomas Cole to the present. No surprise, then, that the creek can revive and refresh body, mind and soul. Yesterday was a bonus day. The local heron was paying a visit at the same time.

_______________

A couple of brief notes:

This coming Tuesday, August 6 at 6 PM, I will be speaking at the Saugerties Public Library. The talk will be about what else – Art and Fossils. I’ll try to make it loose and informal. So if you are in the area stop in. I’ll have samples of my work and some of the fossils I have collected.

Something else I must share – my good friends at the Museum of Natural History in Florence have just announced my September show (I still get goosebumps!) This is posted on their website:

locMurphy_12

_______________

I’m just back from my stay atop Platte Clove. I want to thank the Catskill Center once again for their Artist-in-Residency Program (AIR). It was an honor to be allowed to spend time there and I am most grateful. I have a few early images to share today.

IMG_1994_01_LR_10

The cabin sits directly above Plattekill Falls, a 60 ft. tall beauty whose sounds of rushing, crashing water are a constant (and not unwelcome) companion. I was particularly struck by the creative energy the cabin seemed to engender. Perhaps it was the residue left by the many, talented artists who preceded me. I found myself absorbed creatively in a much different way. I couldn’t sit still! Everything I looked at or even thought about triggered lists of visual possibilities. And I was open to the fresh and new. I wish I could figure out how to bottle that up!

IMG_1796a_01_LR_10

I went up there expecting to photograph rocks. But I was certainly open to whatever “spoke” to me. It’s always a mistake, it seems, to be in new and different surroundings and focus too narrowly. You miss all else that the situation is offering. This time, for whatever reason (and I am sure there are many lurking about), the trees decided to speak up.

IMG_1623_01_LR_12

_______________

IMG_1653_01a_LR_12

_______________

IMG_1794_01_LR_12

_______________

The other thing that really struck me was the moss (images to come). And it seems I carried thoughts about it back to my studio. Upon my return, the first thing I noticed, in my rockpiles, was fresh moss on fossils, many of which I had only recently cracked open. So, after 385 million years hidden away, these fossils now have yet another weathering event to experience.

IMG_2096_01_LR_10

_______________

IMG_2117_01_LR_10

_______________

IMG_2093_01_LR_10

_______________

IMG_2094_01_LR_10

_______________

IMG_2085_01_LR_10

Thank you as always for visiting this site. More images at www.artmurphy.com

Subscribe at my homepage artandfossils.wordpress.com

4 thoughts on “0801- Rocks and Trees

  1. Art, your photos and blog are wonderful. Wish I could attend your Tuesday speech but I already am in a double conflict situation. Congratulations !

  2. I have drawn trees since childhood and recently was painting rocks, so I know what you mean about being open. Like your trunks very much and the stuff growing on the fossils, is like yhe moss here growing on my father-in-law’s sculptures. Do we clean it off?

  3. What splendid trees, treated with the dignity they deserve in your excellent photos. The living moss on your fossils makes a great contrast. Congratulations!

Leave a Reply

