032013 – Reviewing the Past

IMG_8737_01_LR_12

My usual schedule was interrupted last week – more on that at the end of this post. This is a bit different from my usual posts. I was asked to give a lecture in a few weeks, one that would reflect on the arc of my career. So I’ve been spending time looking over images that I haven’t given thought to for a long, long time. I’ve decided to present a random handful, the results of my first round of digging and exploring (hey – isn’t that the way I describe my fossil finds – “digging and exploring”!).

For those who might think I’m a bit “obsessed” with the world of fossils let me share some of these earlier (non-fossil) works. Starting with the opening image, this was a Brooklyn street scene, a festival in fact, viewed from atop the monument in Grand Army Plaza. (kids and chalk!)

_______________

This next handful deal with old sites, each with their own character.

IMG_8736_01_LR_10

Two from Ellis Island before restoration. The haunting imprint of the millions who passed through these rooms was palpable.

IMG_8741_01_LR_12

_______________

A long abandoned farmhouse on the high plains of Montana.

IMG_8734_01_LR_10

_______________

Even longer ago (1250 A.D.), the abandoned community of Chaco Canyon, one of the oldest known sites in North America.

IMG_8735_01_LR_10

_______________

An altar at the Metropolitan Museum’s Cloisters, an incorporation of five medieval European cloisters.

IMG_8749_01_LR_10

_____________

And, lastly, more recent ruins – an abandoned and cannibalized rocket gantry from Cape Canaveral.

IMG_8750_01_LR_10_______________

I also photographed many people, some famous, some not, all very interesting, nonetheless.

A New Mexico rancher during a wind elk roundup.

IMG_8738_01_LR_12

_______________

A few American treasures:

Pete Seeger

Seegerv3_LR_12

Bill Cosby

IMG_8753_01_LR_10

Al Hirschfeld

IMG_8760_01_LR_12

Martin Sheen

IMG_8761_01_LR_12

_______________

And finally, one more American treasure, a deeply personal one.

IN MEMORIAM

Dad_01_LR

ARTHUR A. MURPHY, SR.

In the predawn hour of March 10, my Dad passed away, quietly and peacefully in his sleep after a period of debilitating illness. He was eighty-five years old. All he ever wanted in his lifetime was to be a good husband and father. He cared for us selflessly and, happily, he achieved his goal. He was a fine and decent man and I will miss him greatly.

11 thoughts on “032013 – Reviewing the Past

  1. Beautiful, Art! So sorry to hear about your father, he sounds like he was a really good man. and he made you!

  2. Haunting photos, Art, and a touching tribute to your dad, a fine representative of The Greatest Generation. You must be very proud of him, as I am sure he was of you. I’m so sorry for your loss.

  3. Thanks for sharing your past – you have much to be proud of! How lucky you were to have your Dad be there and see your accomplishments. My sympathies at this time-no matter how old or young there is a deep sadness
    in their passing.

  4. Such a loving and beautiful tribute to your father. My deepest sympathy. Thank you for sharing some of your work….especially Mr. C!

Leave a Reply

