022813 – A Break in the Weather

IMG_8517_01_LR_12Eastern Escarpment of the Catskills

It’s “Cabin Fever” time of year. My wonderful cabin studio in the woods begins to feel oppressively small. Every snowfall is hoped to be the last and Spring can’t get here soon enough. So it was a pleasure to have a good weather day earlier in the week. A few small patches of snow but dry ground and mild temperatures. And I took advantage of it before it could change.

I grabbed my bag and headed to a favorite spot – a nearby quarry full of fossils that also possesses a grand view of the eastern escarpment of the Catskills. I spent a good part of the afternoon up there, reacquainting myself with a routine made dormant by the season. Hiking through the hills, digging and getting dirt under my fingernails, filling my bag full of fossil rocks to take back to the studio – soon “cabin fever” became a distant memory.

_______________

These are some of the pieces I carried back.

IMG_8581_01_LR_10

_______________

IMG_8570_01_LR_10

_______________

IMG_8578_01_LR_10

_______________

IMG_8565_01_LR_12

_______________

IMG_8561_01_LR_10

_______________

The remaining images are what I found when I had arrived at the top of the quarry. The only other recent visitor was a deer who left some old tracks. Fossil laden rocks floated on and around the melting snow.

_______________

IMG_8550_01_LR_12

_______________

IMG_8555_01_LR_12

_______________

IMG_8546_01_LR_10

_______________

IMG_8536_01_LR_12

_______________

IMG_8531_01_LR_10

_______________

IMG_8539_01_LR_10

_______________

And little bits of vibrant color poked through. I do look forward to Spring.

IMG_8530_01_LR_10

Thank you as always for visiting this site. More images at www.artmurphy.com

Subscribe at my homepage  https://artandfossils.wordpress.com

One thought on “022813 – A Break in the Weather

Leave a Reply

