Catching Up

It’s been a busy few weeks and I am finally getting back to what I call a routine. Before I do, though, I wanted to thank all those who visited my studio last weekend during our Catskill Artists Studio Tour. It was a great success. Good food, great friends, and wonderful weather (and pretty good artwork!) left me happy from the event. Certainly enough so to immediately look forward to (and begin to plan for) next year’s tour. As soon as we set the date I’ll let you know.

Several weeks ago Cindy and I took another trip to Ithaca to visit my friends at the Museum of the Earth. (That Finger Lakes area is really growing on me!). And with the Studio Tour done I can finally begin to address the images from that trip. Plenty of promising images to choose from. So today I wanted to share the early results.

_______________

_______________

Two small pieces from the “Jewett Collection” seemed to work best in their respective boxes with old identification cards visible. Not my usual approach, including the “packaging” as I have done, but it seemed appropriate, giving these pieces a particular charm.

_______________

_______________

_______________

I feel like a kid in a candy store every time I wander through their collection. Research needs, throughout history, require the assembling and maintaining of collections such as this. Endless rows of boxes and drawers are filled with wondrous items that unfortunately seldom see the light of day. And so the irony of the situation is such that, after millions and millions of years hidden in the earth these fossils now sit in darkened containers and rarely see the light of day!

_______________

_______________

In some small way I hope that focusing my camera on some of them helps to “spread the word”, if you will, regarding their intrinsic beauty and maybe even propel the viewer to explore the topic further. At the very least, viewing these objects can be as relaxing and meaningful as staring off at the stars on a beautiful night.

_______________

_______________

This last series of images, all trilobites, were a bonus! A while back I had the good fortune to meet Don Wilson, a local resident and volunteer at the Museum. He invited us to visit his property along Cayuga Lake (where a walk in the woods can yield wonderful results). And these are the result of the walk we took with him that day.

_______________

_______________

_______________

_______________

It was a delightful two day trip packed with interesting activity and interesting people. We spent our last evening having dinner on the shore of nearby Seneca Lake, every bit as pleasant as the sunset we witnessed. I look forward to going back again and again!

Thank you as always for visiting. More images at www.artmurphy.com

Subscribe at my homepage https://artandfossils.wordpress.com

4 thoughts on “Catching Up

    • Trilobites are always fun to find. Bob did a good job telling your story yesterday. I have to write him about my “misadventure.” And thanks for your visit. It was great to see you and family.

  1. Pingback: Final Thoughts – 2012 | artandfossils

Leave a Reply

