New Work

During the good weather I much prefer being out and about, hiking the hills and streams, and ultimately finding and photographing local fossils. That urge to be outside often runs counter to the need to sit at the computer and work the day’s images. As a result, I have learned to rely on the dark days of winter to revisit my backlog of images, reacquaint myself with them and, hopefully, smile my way through the cold and gray days of February and March.

So, this winter the backlog sits unattended. Thanks to sunny, 50 degree weather here in the Northeast, I’ve had the opportunity to engage in some new work. I have been periodically been showing work from my “Devonian Drawer” series. It continues to grow in new and different directions. Primary among them has been my exploration of various objects and textures juxtaposed against the fossils. The next three images are the latest:

That project has spurred me to seek out other backdrops, props, etc. and has led to my exploring the local junk shops, old burn pits, and, curiously enough, the studio of a friend. Loel Barr is a brilliant painter, assemblage artist, collagist, and collector of curious objects. Her most recent contribution to my cause was some old metal Kodak “Plus-X” 4×5 film holders. They helped to form a backdrop for a new series that allows for the presentation of some of the simplest and seemingly most ordinary fossil pieces – in fact a fine backdrop to display the extraordinary that exists within the “ordinary.”

The images below are the first steps in this new side trip that the fossils (and Loel) has provided.

Thank you for the visit. More images at www.artmurphy.com

Subscribe to this blog at my homepage  https://artandfossils.wordpress.com

One thought on “New Work

Leave a Reply

