More from PRI

In my previous post, I wrote about my last run to Ithaca where I photographed invertebrate fossils from the collection of the Paleontological Research Institute after taking down my show at PRI’s Museum of the Earth. As I dig into the library of images from that shooting I am continually amazed at the beauty of these objects.

And am I grateful for that – a perfect antidote to the dreary afternoons of this late January. Usually this time of year, we, here along the eastern face of the Catskills, are treated to the very best of “winter wonderland” imagery. This was last year:

This year not so much. It’s an odd feeling when winter doesn’t act like winter.

It’s ironic that marine invertebrate fossils, often as beautiful as these to follow, rarely see the light of day. Museums with such collections usually exist primarily as research institutions. Seldom if ever are marine invertebrates adequately displayed for the public to see. You are far more likely to run into dinosaur skeletons than brachiopods or mollusks – for pretty obvious reasons.

With all that said, I am most thankful for the opportunity to gain access to photograph these objects, and most happy to share them with you.

So, fewer words more pics:

Subscribe to this blog at my homepage  https://artandfossils.wordpress.com

Thank you for the visit. More images at www.artmurphy.com

4 thoughts on “More from PRI

  1. Pingback: Ancient Crinoids | artandfossils

Leave a Reply

