Year End Reflection

I believe it’s always a good time to reflect – on our lives, on our friends and loved ones, where we’ve been, and perhaps where we’re going. Reflections and course corrections – they are almost unavoidable at some point during the holidays. While I try to always look forward and not back I do know that reflecting on and evaluating the personal events of the recent past can only better prepare us as we step forward.

With each passing year I realize that I have been particularly blessed with the love of family and friends. It can be a cold and lonely place without them. The joy they bring to me infuses all that I do. And my gratitude is boundless.

And so, as we prepare to engage winter one more time, before the holiday decorations disappear back up to the attic, I want to diverge from the usual imagery for a moment to acknowledge the two people who inspire me and make me whole – my partner, Cindy, and my son, Shaun.

We were able to spend Christmas together with the entire family – a most special event. I’d have pictures but was too busy scarfing down Christmas cookies and other assorted treats!

So thank you for this brief indulgence, dear reader. And with that out of the way let me mention a few quick notes:

My exhibit at the Museum of the Earth in Ithaca will be closing on January 9. So if you are in the vicinity before then please stop by.

The ASCI sponsored show, containing three of my fossil images, remains up until early February at the New York Hall of Science at the old World Fair site in Flushing Meadows, Queens.

I am busy with several new projects – some with fossils, some without; a soon to be released magazine spread (more on that to come); and more exhibiting soon. In the meantime, I hope to be spending more time in the studio creating and exploring and less time being the business man!

Best wishes for a Happy and Healthy New Year.

I’ll end now with a few new ones from the “Devonian Drawer” Series:

Subscribe to this blog at my homepage  https://artandfossils.wordpress.com

Thank you for the visit. More images at www.artmurphy.com

2 thoughts on “Year End Reflection

  1. Love the photo portraits (especially the one of Cindy– you capture a very intriguing look in her eyes). Glad to finally meet you, and I look forward to more conversations on the Hudson Valley painters, Andy Goldsworthy, fossil hunters, and more….

Leave a Reply

