A Break From Fossils

     Throughout my career I have always been intrigued with the past. Certainly my personal “discovery” of fossils and the projects that that has spawned is a perfect example. In fact, it is pretty hard to explore much of anything older with a camera. But before that there were several projects that spoke of time past. I was one of the last photographers to shoot Ellis Island before its refurbishment. I was given a wonderful opportunity by the Metropolitan Museum of Art to shoot a four season study of the Cloisters. And, immediately prior to my fossils, I was busy shooting architecturally what could be best described as “industrial archaeology”.

     I am happy to say that the image above, that of the 59th Street Bridge in NYC, has just won an award in the architecture category of a nationally juried show. The show is entitled PHOTOcentric and opens tomorrow, September 10 (thru Oct.2) at the Garrison Art Center in Garrison, N.Y. Jurors were the acclaimmed photographer Larry Fink and Stephen Perloff, founder and editor of the Photo Review.

     With that in mind, I decided to go back through some related work and post a few images other than fossils for a change. Next week I will fill you in on my upcoming museum exhibition of fossil images. I’m pretty excited about that. In the meantime, though, I’d like to share the following images with you. They were made in Troy, N.Y., once a city of immense commerce and now, like so many others, struggling to get by. All four of the images below were from the old Burden Iron Works. The buildings were demolished a few years ago.

Subscribe to this blog at my homepage  https://artandfossils.wordpress.com

Thank you for the visit. More images at www.artmurphy.com

One thought on “A Break From Fossils

Leave a Reply

